The making of the Daisy

Posted: September 28, 2010 in Uncategorized





This illustration started in my sketchbook, as most good ideas do. Its basically marker, pen, spray paint and acrylic on Bristol board. After the figure is all drawn out and colored I cover the piece in friskit paper and mask off the sides. Then very carefully I cut around the figure and discard the friskit that was covering up the negative space. Now my figure, or “MGU unit” (I wont tell you what it stands for) is all masked off. Next I triple check all my masks and then  spray paint the entire piece until the grey is nice and uniform. Next I splatter some black and pearl white paint and when that dries the fun part: removing the friskit and the masking!! (carefully of course). Voila! There you have it.

Leave a comment